Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

Booker Prize Shortlist Announced
Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

Video: Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

Video: 2021 Booker Prize Shortlist Announcement Livestream 2022, November

The British Booker Prize jury has announced this year's shortlist. The list includes six people, among them two British authors - the writer Deborah Levy with the book Hot Milk, Graham Macri Barnett with the book His Damn Project, two American authors - Paul Beaty with the novel Sale and Ottessa Moshfeig with her debut book "Eileen", as well as David Szali, who has British and Canadian citizenship, with the novel "All That Man Is" and Canadian Madeleine Thien with the book "Don't Say We Have Nothing."

The media note that the short-list of the award did not include the books of the Pulitzer Prize winner Elizabeth Stout from the United States and the South African writer John Maxwell Coetzee, who has twice received the Booker Prize and became a Nobel Prize winner in 2003.

The name of the winner, who will receive 50 thousand pounds sterling, will be announced on October 25. Jamaican Marlon James won the 2015 Booker Prize for A Brief History of Seven Murders, about the attempted assassination of famed Jamaican musician Bob Marley in the 1970s.

Until recently, only authors of novels from the Commonwealth, Ireland and Zimbabwe could receive the Booker, but since 2014, a writer from any country can receive the award if his work is written in English. In addition to the English-language "Booker" (The Man Booker Prize), there is also the International Booker Prize (The Man Booker International Prize), which is awarded for novels written in any language and translated into English. The 2016 International Booker Prize went to South Korean writer Han Kang, author of The Vegetarian, and translator Deborah Smith.

In Russia, there is also a similar literary prize, which is awarded for the best novels in Russian. This year, the Russian Booker's shortlist will be announced on October 5, and the winner will be announced on December 1. Last year, Alexander Snegirev became the laureate of the prize with his novel "Vera".

Popular by topic